top of page



The Parliament of Victoria is made up of the Crown, the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly. The Crown means the Queen. In Victoria, the Queen is represented by the Governor.

The Legislative Council is sometimes referred to as the upper House and the Legislative Assembly is sometimes called the lower House. The terms 'House', 'Chamber' and 'legislature' are often used interchangeably to refer to either the Legislative Council or the Legislative Assembly. Sometimes we shorten the names to the Council and the Assembly

There are 128 members of the Parliament of Victoria. The Legislative Council has 40 Members elected from 8 Regions. 5 Members represent each Region.  Use this map to find your electorate.


The Parliament consists of two Houses (the Senate and the House of Representatives), and the Queen, represented in Australia by the Governor General. In 1901 the Australian Constitution established the Australian Parliament, also known as the federal Parliament or the Commonwealth Parliament.

The Senate consists of 76 senators, twelve from each of the six states and two from each of the mainland territories. It shares the power to make laws with the other House of the Parliament, the House of Representatives.

The House of Representatives is sometimes called ‘the People’s House’ or the ‘house of government’. The party, or parties, that hold a majority of seats in the House form government. There are currently 151 Members of the House of Representatives who each represent an electorate. Profile of Casey Electorate that covers Yarra Ranges Council and parts of Cardinia Shire Council.

bottom of page